Not An Average American Dream

I just Googled “year of the American Dream” and I came up with this from Wikipedia (I’m not writing an essay so no docking for an untrustworthy website)… ‘In the definition of the American Dream by James Truslow Adams in 1931, “life should be better and richer and fuller for everyone, with opportunity for each according to ability or achievement” regardless of social class or circumstances of birth.’

Taking a moment to remove myself from the “American” picture has really opened my eyes to how blessed it is to be born and raised in the United States, but also how enticingly easy it is to fall for the “work to live” mentality. It’s nice to have that house, drive that car, for me live in a top floor flat on Embarcadero, San Francisco, but come on…. We all know it takes a multi millionaire in order to buy that flat and pay off all the bills…. 

So this is the way I see it….

I’ve given my life to God because God bless America. If God can do so much for America since the day the dollar bill was originated, I wonder what he can do in me. I took some time to really think about this. What do I want for the rest of my life? I know what I don’t like doing… So I made a mental list… (for my mind only) :p

Recently I posted on Facebook I’m thinking of going to Indonesia end of this summer. There’s a desperate need for an English teacher to high school students. School year starts end of July. What are the chances that I just got out of teaching a couple of high school kids, and it’ll be beginning of July when I return from my around the world travels? I’d be stupid to ignore God’s calling. My mom wrote me asking if I’m taking the easy way out, and my dad thinks I’m on the career path to becoming a nun. (All respects to our nuns) 

It’s tough doing things not the average person is doing, but I strongly believe in the “American” dream. Life should be about being full. Many people make millions yet there’s still something missing (I tell ya it’s faith, Jesus!). Once life is full, it becomes better. Once it becomes better it becomes richer! In a sense where one day, money will never become an issue. Why? Because God provides. God loves. God is good, ALL THE TIME! (Don’t believe me? Just watch.)

  

Leave a Reply

