Traveling Like a Local Not a Tourist in Shanghai

I make a conscious effort to know if I have any friends in the places I travel to, and to map how far they will be from my destination to see if it’s actually a possibility to meet them up. You might be surprised who you know in other parts of the world. I arrived in Shanghai four nights ago, and tomorrow I’ll be leaving for Bangkok to do a little South East Asian exploration with my little sister. These days in Shanghai went by SUPER quick, but I’m happy to say I made the most out of my days, and got exactly what I wanted: to reunite with old friends and see the famous rocketship building.

image

Sally was a fellow teacher towards end of last year when I was teaching in Sanya. She insisted on me visiting her in Shanghai, so I specifically made this trip so that I could visit her and her two funny boys Yiheng (3) and Yishu (1.5).

image

image

This TV tower really is a site to see, especially at night… It’s purple!!

image

image

Can’t get much cuter than this now can you? ^__^ :p

Now what kind of food did we eat? Of course the dumplings and a whole lot of other goodness that I do not know the name of…

image

Of course to eat the best Shanghai dumplings in Shanghai you must be asking the locals

image

image

And to find the most authentic restaurants you can trust the locals to give you the best advice

image

sorry… i got to this dinner a bit late and ordered a homemade chocolate that was so good we didn’t think to take a picture til after it was finished :p

image

This post wouldn’t be complete without this photo, because the brother on the left, Donny Chi is a dear old friend from high school who I always thought was too cool to talk to me (or maybe vice versa :p jkjk), but after seven years it’s awesome that I got to catch up and meet his gf and friends here in Shanghai! Praise the Lord for reminding us how big our church family really is. It’s amazing what God can do when you’re willing to extend your reach beyond your hometown boundaries. 😉

Leave a Reply

